Latest News / July ‘24 / We are experiencing a surge of new members coming in. The latest are OSRA, Kudan, Synkrotron, REKA and AutoCrypt!

Autoware Workshop IV2020

Author: ADMIN
Autoware Workshop IV2020

 Autoware Workshop IV2020

The Autoware Foundation is organizing the 2nd workshop, Autoware IV2020, which will take place virtually on Friday, October 23, 2020.

We are looking forward to your participation.


Autoware IV2020 will be a workshop for developers in the ROSCOn, PyCon, and BoostCon models. We aim for a full-day program comprising technical talks and tutorials that will introduce you to new algorithms, tools, and libraries in Autoware and teach you more about the ones you already know.

The bulk of the program will be 10-30 minute presentations

However, some may be longer or shorter.


 Autoware IV2020 Workshop Proposal Submission

We are now accepting proposals for presentations at the workshop. Presentations on all topics related to Autoware are welcome, e.g., introduction of the participants to an Autoware package or a library or application, investigation of the use of tools, etc. The program committee will examine the proposals, which assesses their suitability, influence, and balance.​

Women, members of minority groups, and members of other under-represented groups are encouraged to submit presentation proposals for Autoware Workshop IV2020.

Proposals will be reviewed by a program committee evaluating fit, impact, and balance. We cannot offer presentations that are not proposed!

If there is a topic on which you would like to present, please propose it. On the other hand, if you have an idea for an important topic that you do not want to present yourself, please post it for discussion at Autoware Discourse or Slack.


 Autoware Workshop IV2020  Agenda

Welcome ​

  • 8:00 PT | 17:00 CET | 00:00 JST
    • Welcome
      Jan Becker (BoD, The Autoware Foundation)
  • 8:05 PT | 17:05 CET | 00:05 JST
    • Recap and achievements of the Autoware Foundation in the last year
      Daisuke Tanaka (Operation Chair, The Autoware Foundation)
  • 8:15 PT | 17:15 CET | 00:15 JST
    • Overview of the Autoware Foundation technical work
      Josh Whitley (The Autoware Foundation Architect)
      Q&A (5min)
  • Invited Talks moderated by Jan Becker

  • 8:45 PT | 17:45 CET | 00:45 JST
    • ROS 2 – The Software Framework underneath Autoware.Auto
      Geoff Biggs (Open Robotics)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 9:15 PT | 18:15 CET | 01:15 JST
    • Building Safe Complex Systems – Lessons Learned from SIL2LinuxMP
      Nicholas Mc Guire, Carsten Emde (OSADL)
      Q&A (5min)
  • Autoware Technologies, moderated by Sanjay Krishnan

  • 9:35 PT | 18:35 CET | 01:35 JST
    • CARLA ScenarioRunner – Free Scenario Simulation and Analysis for the Development of AD Stacks
      Fabian Oboril and Kay-Ulrich Scholl (Intel)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 9:50 PT | 18:50 CET | 01:50 JST
    • RSS in Autoware
      Fabian Oboril and Kay-Ulrich Scholl (Intel)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 10:05 PT | 19:05 CET | 02:05 JST
    • Efficient and Scalable Safety Assessment of the Autoware Architecture Proposal
      Matthew O’Kelly (Trustworthy AI)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 10:25 PT | 19:25 CET | 02:25 JST
    • Unified ML Inference in Autoware
      Liyou Zhou (arm)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 10:55 PT | 19:55 CET | 02:55 JST
    • Autoware’s solution to motion planning: a practical overview
      Stefano Longo and Sandro Merkli (embotech)
      ​Q&A (5min)
  • 11:15 PT | 20:15 CET | 03:15 JST
    • Improving the Safety and Dependability of Open-source Autonomy
      Jeff Johnson (Mapless AI)
      ​Q&A (5min)
  • 11:35 PT | 20:35 CET | 03:35 JST
    • Break ​
  • ​Autoware.Auto, Autonomous Valet Parking, and Applications moderated by Sanjay Krishnan

  • 12:00 PT | 21:00 CET | 04:00 JST
    • Overview AVP project
      Josh Whitley (The Autoware Foundation Architect)
      Q&A (5min)
  • ​12:30 PT | 21:30 CET | 04:30 JST
    • 3D Perception in Autoware.Auto
      Yunus Caliskan (Apex.AI)
      Q&A (5min)
      ​12:55 PT | 21:55 CET | 04:55 JST
      Control in Autoware.Auto
      Christopher Ho (Apex.AI)
      Q&A (5min)
  • ​13:15 PT | 22:15 CET | 05:15 JST
    • Autoware.AI, Autoware.Auto, Apex.OS running together in the Virtual Vehicle Research demonstrator
      Markus Schratter, Michael Stradner, Daniel Watzenig (TU Graz)
      Q&A (5min)
  • Autoware Future Work and Outlook, moderated by Sanjay Krishnan
    • 13:40 PT | 22:40 CET | 05:40 JST
      Sensing System Reference Design for Autoware
      David Wong, Akihito Ohsato, Simon Thompson (Tier IV)
      Q&A (5min)
  • ​14:05 PT | 23:05 CET | 06:05 JST
    • Tier IV X: Research and Development to Improve Fundamental Autoware Technologies
      Simon Thompson (Tier IV)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 14:30 PT | 23:30 CET | 06:30 JST
    • Autoware at 200mph – How Indy Autonomous Challenge Speeds Open Source
      Joe Speed (ADLINK), Josh Whitley (The Autoware Foundation)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 14:55 PT | 23:55 CET | 06:55 JST
    • Autoware in Education, moderated by Sanjay Krishnan
    • Education in Autonomous Driving Technologies using Autoware
      Alex Carballo (Univ. Nagoya)
      Q&A (5min)
  • 15:20 PT | 00:20 CET | 07:20 JST
    • Panel ​moderated by Jeff Ota
    • Panel Discussion
      Jeff Ota, Shinpei Kato, Josh Whitley, Sanjay Krishnan,…
  • 16:00 PT | 01:00 CET | 08:00 JST
    Fin

 Autoware Workshop Topic Areas

All Autoware-related work is invited. Topics of interest include:

  • Best practices
  • New packages
  • Vehicle-specific development
  • Simulation
  • Safety and Security
  • Embedded systems
  • Product development & commercialization
  • Research and Education
  • Community organization and direction
  • Testing, quality, and documentation
  • Competitions and collaborations

Related open-source projects​


 Autoware Workshop Proposal Format

Contribution proposal:

  • Title
  • Presenter (name and affiliation)
  • Recommended duration: Short (~10 minutes), Medium (~20 minutes) or Long (~30 minutes)
  • Summary [maximum 100 words]: to be used in advertising the presentation
  • Description [maximum 1000 words]: outline, goals (what will the audience learn?), pointers  to packages to be discussed

 

Please be sure to include in your proposal enough information for the program committee to evaluate the importance and impact of your presentation. We strongly encourage you to provide links to publicly available resources, including code repositories and demonstration videos. Demonstrated community interest is helpful in evaluating proposals. A proposal that promises to make an open-source release in the future is difficult for the program committee to evaluate and less likely to be accepted.


 Autoware Workshop  Organizers

Shinpei Kato
The University of Tokyo – TIER IV Inc.

Jan Becker 
Apex AI, Inc –  Stanford University

Ignacio Alvarez
Intel

Daniel Watzenig
TU Graz/ Virtual Vehicle

Geoffrey Biggs
Autoware TSC Manager